Date: 30th April 2018 at 5:43pm
Written by:

The expected fallout from a truly horrendous campaign has started at York City with nine players released from Bootham Crescent.

Connor Brown, Aidan Connolly, James Gray, Sam Muggleton, Daniel Rowe, Michael Rankine, Luke Simpson, Connor Smith, and Theo Wharton are all leaving the club after their contracts expired.

However, strikers Alex Kempster and Louis Almond are both offered new deals, while midfielder Clovis Kamdjo is invited to return for pre-season training following more than a year on the sidelines due to a cruciate injury.

On loan trio Raul Correia, Jonny Burn and Alex Pattison have each returned to their parent clubs.

Remaining under contract for next season are: Adam Bartlett, Hamza Bencherif, David Ferguson, Simon Heslop, Josh Law, Adriano Moke, Sean Newton, Daniel Parslow, Jon Parkin, Vinnie Steels and Ryan Whitley.

Manager Martin Gray is understood to be looking for a squad of eighteen for the start of the new campaign.