Date: 15th July 2016 at 2:57pm
Written by:

York City have their second pre-season friendly when visiting National League North side Stalybridge Celtic on Saturday (kick-off 3.00pm).

The fixture at the Bower Fold kicks-off at 3.00pm and comes a week after City’s opening game defeat to Middlesbrough.

It marks a swift return to his former club for the Minstermen’s new centre-back and early skipper candidate Jack Higgins, who actually topped Stalybridge’s goalscoring charts last season with a hugely impressive thirteen.

“I’m looking forward to seeing everybody again, but they will be physical, very direct and take any chance to put the ball in our box,” he warned The Press. “It will be quite similar to what we can expect in the National League at places like Barrow from what I’ve heard.

“Some of our young lads might be used to playing nice, slick football on carpets, but they will be getting balls lumped in at them and it will be a real test for them,” added Higgins.

Fellow newcomer Ben Barber [hamstring] and young midfielder Callum Rzonca [shoulder] both missed out against the Teessiders last week due to early knocks. They’ve since been joined on the sidelines by midfielder Matty Dixon [thigh].

Like York, Celtic lost their opening pre-season run-out 2-0 to Barnsley, through a second-half Adam Hammill penalty and Jack Cowgill’s late header.

They recently signed former City winger Danny Pilkington, 26, from National League Barrow. He also includes Stockport County, Kidderminster Harriers and Hereford United amongst his former clubs.

Admission prices for the game are £7 Adults, £4 Concessions (Over 65’s and 16-18 year-olds), and £1 for Accompanied Children 15-or-under.

Stalybridge Celtic (from): Danny Burns, Aaron Chalmers, Aidan Chippendale, Adam Farrell, Matty Hughes, Tony McMillan, Alec Mudimu, Darius Osei, Andy Owens, Danny Pilkington, Nick Ryan, John Shaw, Chris Simm, Steve Tames, Danny Wisdom, Dale Wright, Peter Wylie

York City (from): Scott Flinders, Shaun Rooney, Jack Higgins, Josh Robinson, Matt Fry, Ben Clappison, Alex Whittle, Simon Heslop, Yan Klukowski, Clovis Kamdjo, Danny Galbraith, Aidan Connolly, Kaine Felix, Tyler Walton, Richard Brodie, Reece Thompson, Daniel Nti, Scott Fenwick, Nick Kennedy