Date: 10th September 2014 at 2:48pm
Written by:

</p> <div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div> <p>

Plans for York’s new community stadium moved a stage further with City of York Council’s cabinet approving borrowing £4m towards financing the project.

“This is a huge potential for the city” – Cllr James Alexander

The full cost of providing a new stadium and leisure complex for the city is £37m. City of York Council are responsible for £8m of that – with £4m of it being borrowed.

The project includes a newly-constructed swimming pool, a cinema, restaurants and a library; and the full council must now discuss and make a final decision on whether the borrowing of the funds should be granted.

“This is a huge potential for the city. This is a massive thing we can bring forward for the public,” Leader of the council Cllr James Alexander told The Press. “This is genuinely a huge opportunity to show members of this city these are facilities for them. These are good quality, nationally recognised facilities. I think that is the right thing to do.”

The timescale of operations has planning approval set for February/March 2015, with site mobilisation in March and building commencing in April, and finally being completed and fully operational by July/August 2016.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!





FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate